Librarian in the Library

Following the path of one assistant into full librarianship

Master’s Degree – Dissertation Progression

There has been a fair amount of progress on the dissertation since I last talked about it. We’ve handed in our final proposals and have now moved into what I refer to as the main section of it. In my case, this means that I have until September 4th to get my ethics approval, get my questionnaire out into the world and gain as many responses as I can, and then write everything up in approximately 15,000 words.

I’m actually not doing too badly, in my opinion. The proposal was only 3,000 words, but we did cover the introduction, literature review, methodology and other bits and pieces that we obviously will be using in the dissertation itself. I’ve already managed to expand out the introduction into a stage where I am happy to call it my dissertation introduction, so now I just need to do the same for the literature review and the methodology. Although the literature review is going to be a much longer section than anything else.

In the meantime, I’ve submitted my ethics approval. Any research that involves human participants needs to be ethically sound, so we have to outline what we’re doing, what data we’re collecting, and any risk associated with it. Since my participants are aged 18 and over, and the topic of video games is not a high risk topic, I get to be classed as low risk, so it shouldn’t take me too long to get the approval through. Once I have the approval, I can pilot my questionnaire, which I have been writing up, and once I have tweaked it according to the results from testing, I can put it live and hopefully have it up for around 6 weeks, which should be enough time to get lots of answers.

Questionnaire

Of course, I still have two other modules, both with pieces of coursework, to finish. But that takes me to the end of the month, so it’s a balancing act until then, but from June to September, it’s going to be very much about the dissertation. I’m quite looking forward to it, although there are nervous undertones because I do want to do well on it. But that’s up to me, I’ll get as much out of it as I put in, so there’s going to be a lot of hard work between now and September 4th!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2017 by in Masters and tagged , , , , .

Click here to follow this blog via Email.

Join 13 other followers

