Librarian in the Library

Following the path of one assistant into full librarianship

Chartership – Initiation

One of the early posts I made on this blog was about the PKSB. I did end up registering for Chartership and formally starting the process, however it didn’t go completely smoothly. After a false start whereby the person I asked to be my mentor was then unable to take me on, my attention waned, of course going over to my masters degree. However, with the onset of a module which looks to be designed to help with chartership, and indeed the module coordinator (and main lecturer) has commented that the module is ‘a good way to lead into Chartership’, I have managed to find another mentor, and started the process.

The first step was registering, which I did some time ago. The second was to identify a mentor and register them as my mentor for the duration of Chartership, which I managed to sort out last week. They advise that you find someone who is outside of your current sector, however, quite a lot of the mentors on the list will only mentor someone within their organisation, which dramatically cuts down on the number of potential people, and the person I have found is someone that I get along with well. So whilst they might be working in my sector, I know that they have past experience in different sectors, and I know that we get along well, hence I think that it will work quite well, even if it does go slightly against recommendations.

vle-mentor

With that in place, and a few emails sent back and forth, I’ve turned my attention to the PKSB – Professional Knowledge and Skills Base. You can find my earlier post about it here and whilst the sections haven’t changed, the way in which I am approaching it has. Having done so much work with my degree, I know that my own knowledge has changed, and my awareness of factors affecting the various sectors has changed as well, so I’m more carefully thinking about it than I did previously.

The aim of it is to identify between 6 and 10 sectors that you want to work on – improve your knowledge, your skills, your information about that area. So you complete the PKSB at the start of the Chartership, and at the end, and then compare the two of them to see if you have improved. Failing to improve in a marked area doesn’t fail your the Chartership, that’s not quite the point. But being able to be self-critical and examine your self and your strengths and weaknesses is an important tool for a professional.

chartership

My mentor is on holiday this week, so I have a week or so to tackle the PKSB on my own, and then when he comes back we can meet up and go through what I’ve done. It is meant to be an exercise in self-reflection, so completing it on my own initially is probably a good thing, although it is a little daunting. I will try and report back on how it goes, and which areas I identify for improvement.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2017 by in CILIP and tagged , , .

Click here to follow this blog via Email.

Join 13 other followers

